Entry #42: Prayer of a Sportsman

Have you ever heard the expression, “It’s not whether you win or lose, it’s how you play the game.”? I tend to be competitive (hopefully in a good way), especially when I think about running in this Christian race (endeavoring always to do better at something than previously done, striving to do what is right, striving against sin). Perhaps the biggest part of our striving “to win” should be in playing the game FAIRLY. I liked this poem that brings out this thought. See what you think:

Prayer of a Sportsman

Dear Lord, in the battle that goes on through life
I ask but a field that is fair,
A chance that is equal with all in the strife,
A courage to strive and to dare;

And if I should win, let it be by the code
With my faith and my honor held high;
And if I should lose, let me stand by the road,
And cheer as the winners go by.

And Lord, may my shouts be ungrudging and clear,
A tribute that comes from the heart,
And let me not cherish a snarl or a sneer
Or play any sniveling part;

Let me say, “There they ride, on whom laurel’s bestowed
Since they played the game better than I.”
Let me stand with a smile by the side of the road,
And cheer as the winners go by.

So grant me to conquer, if conquer I can,
By proving my worth in the fray,
But teach me to lose like a regular man,
And not like a craven, I pray;

Let me take off my hat to the warriors who strode
To victory splendid and high,
Yea, teach me to stand by the side of the road
And cheer as the winners go by.

-Berton Braley

And if a man also strive for masteries, yet is he not crowned, except he strive lawfully.
- II Timothy 2:5 

Then this Daniel was preferred above the presidents and princes, because an excellent spirit was in him; and the king thought to set him over the whole realm.
- Daniel 6:3

Published in: on January 18, 2008 at 12:10 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://tommyjoe.wordpress.com/2008/01/18/entry-42-prayer-of-a-sportsman/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I like the poem, Tom.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

