Entry #48—The Charity Song (revisited)

I received so many responses to my blog entry #11: I Corinthians 13 (revisited) concerning the Charity song (and some of those responses were indirectly addressed to the writer of the Charity song—Kenn Gulliksen) that I thought I would “set the record straight” regarding the original wording to that song. I did not have them quite correctly in my #11 entry. I recently received a free CD copy of the Charity album by Kenn Gulliksen (from Kenn Gulliksen himself—thanks again Kenn [and thanks to your kind wife]!) and was able to listen to the actual words to the Charity song and write them down as I heard them. I am hoping that those who read this (including possibly Kenn Gulliksen himself?) will see that I took the time to write this entry because I wanted to “get things right.” (I feel even stronger about getting things right concerning salvation. Are we not supposed to work out our own salvation with fear and trembling, in other words very carefully?!)

More than even wanting to get the words of a great song right, for me, it is important that I “get my salvation right.” I wouldn’t feel that the actual Biblical words in I Corinthians 13 concerning charity (love) were actually addressed to me until I knew I had been through the salvation steps that the Corinthians had obeyed, namely the gospel message that is recorded in Acts 2:38 concerning repentance, water baptism in Jesus name (actually having the name of  Jesus invoked over me while being baptized, the only way anyone in the true New Testament church was ever baptized), and receiving the gift of the Holy Ghost with the evidence of speaking in another tongue. THEN, we go on to “perfect holiness” in the fear of God, live for the Lord, and develop the fruits of the spirit (one of which happens to be love) in our lives. Before this, all our efforts in producing any fruit of the Spirit, no matter how good they may be, are just our own works of righteousness which we have done. We must first all have a new birth of righteousness, a being born again of water and of the Spirit.

The New Testament church in the Bible is depicted as the bride of Christ. We take on the name of the bridegroom in water baptism. What bride would refuse the name of her husband? Is not our Maker our husband (Isaiah 54:5)? Is not the Jehovah (YHWH [Yahweh]) of the Old Testament the Jesus (or Yeshua) of the New Testament?! We’ve got revealed to us the more excellent name of the Everlasting Father who has come in the flesh (Jesus Christ, called both the Son of God and the Son of man, thus revealing His two natures). I am so glad I can take on His name (the name of the Lord Jesus Christ) in water baptism, obey His plan of salvation, and then be “qualified” to have those letters in the epistles be spiritually addressed to me. I thank the Lord that through baptism in Jesus name, He remits our sins, and we can stand holy, blameless, and unreproveable in His sight. THEN, we can go on to have the pure love of God shed abroad in our hearts by the Holy Ghost which is given to us! To the Lord Jesus Christ be all the glory!

Original Words To The Charity Song
            (Kenn Gulliksen)

Although I speak with tongues
Of men and of angels
And though I prophesy
And understand all
Although I have all faith
So mountains may be removed
And though I feed the poor
And give of my life

Chorus:

If I have not charity
If love does not flow from me
I am nothing
Jesus reduce me to love

Love is patient and kind
Love is not envious
Not proud but gentle and meek
Seeks not its own way
Love sings when Jesus prevails
Believes and endures all things
Love hopes and bears every wrong
And love never fails

Repeat Chorus

One season I was a child
I spoke and I thought as a child
But when I turned to a man
Such ways put aside
Though now we see through a glass
Yet then we shall see face to face
Though now abide faith and hope
The greatest is love

Repeat Chorus

Published in: on May 14, 2010 at 12:29 am  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://tommyjoe.wordpress.com/2010/05/14/entry-48%e2%80%94the-charity-song-revisited/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Glad you got the author of the song to give you the whole song. I have sung it for many years. It was first published by Maranatha! Evangelical Association. – Costa Mesa, CA in 1973. The songbook I bought was illustrated by Greg Laurie, who founded Harvest Ministries and was part of the Jesus Movement and was discipled by Chuck Smith. You can google his name and find his website online.
    Some very good songs came out of that time.

  2. I’m looking for either sheet music or accompaniment CD for this beautiful song


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

